making cheese looks very interresting to me

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

vschlaff

Reaction score
Could you guys tell me if it is difficult to make. What equipment is needed and would I age the cheese?
Thanks
Ginny

LOL, I was just saying in the other thread exactly what you are looking to do here!!! Sorry, I havent made cheese......yet! From what Ive heard its fairly easy. You just need to find a good place to get NOn ultra paster. cheese.

Julie is making it right now. I'm sure she will chime in when she sees your post.

I have some experience with the process of culturing milk and recommend this resource http://schmidling.com/making.htm

Essentially it is just culturing milk. Making your own yogurt is very similar to this, try doing that first and see if you like it. The link above recommends trying to make cottage cheese first.

Anything more complicated and you'll need to do straining, which means you'll need a colander and cheesecloth (if you'll allow me to shamelessly promote myself :D)

It is not hard at all, my husband had bought me a couple of kits for Christmas a couple of years ago. One is for mozzerrella and ricotta called Ricki's Mozzerrella and Ricotta cheese and the other is Ricki's Hard Cheese. Go to Brew and Wine Supplys' website, he has them there and if you have any trouble on the site, just give Doug a call.

Going with a kit is your best way to go and make sure you pick up a mold, again Brew & Wine can help you out on what you will need.

Vschlaff, there are a number of excellent videos on line. Here is one but you can find just about anything you want:

[ame]http://www.metacafe.com/watch/1609733/how_to_make_cheese/[/ame]

cheese

ROCKY THAT WAS A EXCELLENT VIDEO, I do believe I'm going tp try it.:try