Other Kit wine taste

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sailor323

Reaction score
I’ve been drinking wine for at least 60 years. In the early days I preferred Bordeaux wines then I discovered the Rhône! In general Of course, you can ever go wrong with a simple Beaujolais. I like wines from France, Spain and Italy. I’ve been making wine on and off for over years. I began with fruit wines, then moved on to wines from French-American hybrid grapes. I no longer have access to the grapes and it’s difficult to buy really good wines where I live so I’ve been making kit wine. Last year I made 60 gallons of kit wines. A couple of years ago I made 180 gallons in a 12 month period.. I make Finer Wine Kits, Wine Expert and RJS. I especially like the WE GSM blend and FWK Super Tuscan (with Syrah) is dynamite. So here’s my question. What is “kit taste”? How would you describe it? I have noticed a difference between kit wines and commercial wines. I find that kit wines are much more fruit forward and are generally lighter bodied and less complex. I also find that varietal character is much less pronounced and there’s not a lot of difference between varieties. I don’t find a great deal of difference between FWK and other kits.

KWT is an odd flavor that I'd describe as a flavor that is harsh and definitely out of place. Others have described it as a chemical taste. I've encountered it numerous times, and while there are differences from wine to wine, it's all in the same family. Like 5 breeds of dogs all look different but are all recognizably dogs.

I've heard numerous theories as to the source of KWT. The one common thing in wines reported to have KWT is the concentrate, so it appears likely that it is an side effect of the concentrate production.