Kit says check sg but no way to adjust

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kaitala

Reaction score
I have a Master Vintner Weekday Wine kit for Pinot Noir. On day 1, it says to check specific gravity, and it should be 1.075 or higher.

if it's not, it doesnt give a way to fix it. Is it even necessary to check it, an dif it's not right, what do I do?

You can add sugar or simple syrup to bring it up to the desired SG before fermentation if it’s low. Usually kits don’t stray from where they are supposed to be SG wise though.

also- those instructions are not gospel. Unfortunately they don’t explain why things are done or different options you’ve got. Any other questions don’t hesitate to ask.

it’s necessary to check because your starting SG combined with your ending SG will tell you the abv. Also more importantly it lets you know how your fermentation is progressing as you check along the way. Your SG is your guide for the ferment.

On day 1, it says to check specific gravity, and it should be 1.075 or higher.
It’s also a way for a beginner to know they’re reading the hydrometer correctly: that the mark the must is at is 1.075, not 1.75. A lot of beginners have trouble reading one.

If your kit says the SG should be over 1.075, and it’s not, I would take a picture of the hydrometer and contact the manufacturer. Something would likely be wrong. If you add sugar before contracting them, they would be under no obligation to refund or replace your purchase.