"First-Time Winemaker Seeking Advice: Bubbling and SG Readings in Wine Buddy Chardonnay Kit"

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jjay 7571

Junior
Reaction score
Good morning everyone! This is my first attempt at making wine, and I could use some advice. I picked up a Wine Buddy Chardonnay 30-bottle 7-day kit. It's now the 8th day, and I've noticed that the wine is still bubbling roughly every 15 seconds. The temperature of the wine is at 21°C. Should I continue to let it bubble until it stops on its own?

I took an initial specific gravity (SG) reading and it was 1.070. Is it safe to take off the lid of the bucket and take another SG reading to see where it's at now, or should I just leave it undisturbed? Your expertise would be greatly appreciated!

welcome to Wine Making Talk

I have not used this kit so I don’t know the intent or logic behind “seven days”. —Some basics, if it is bubbling it is protected with CO2 and it is safe to open the primary. —At 21 a fermentation should be done in a week. However you won’t know unless you check with your hydrometer. — Wines go through phases where different events happen. Typically fermentation where air exposure is OK -> a month under airlock for letting most of the large solids settle ending with racking to a clean container -> three months plus to let fine particulates settle and CO2 to escape. -> More time if natural cleaning occurred. ,,, But, A kit may compress the time but adding fining agents. -> Bottling -> consumption.