Other Sugar Content of Kit Sweetener

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Resonant11

Reaction score
Hello all! I'm new to home winemaking and I was given a Master Vintner Tropical Bliss Blackberry Pinot Noir kit. I took hydrometer and refractometer readings throughout the process, but when I attempted to find the Brix of the sweetener when I was bottling, I wasn't able to get a reading. I'm assuming it was off the chart of my refractometer. I'd like to try to calculate the residual sugar, but I don't know how much sugar was in the "fruit essence" sweetener. In hindsight, I'm guessing that a final specific gravity measurement after back sweetening would have worked, but I did not think to take that measurement.

Does anyone have an estimate for what the sugar content might have been? It was 1 liter of sweetener. I reached out to the retailer (Northern Brewer), but their initial response doesn't give me confidence that they know.

Thanks!

Good morning and welcome to WMT. Your kit likely has a RS (residual sugar) of 2 BRIX - this is going to read 1.008 (approximately) on a gravity scale. Here’s three options to find out now: 1) send a sample to a lab (expensive and logistically difficult), 2) open a bottle and take a gravity or BRIX reading using a hydrometer (some hydrometers have both BRIX and gravity), 3) use your refractometer next time you open a bottle to measure BRIX.

Personally, I would tend toward option 2. Then you’ll know.