just tried our cab/merlot & valpol

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lieu

Reaction score
Well we just racked these two off the sediment in the bottom of the carboys and had to have a try. It was ok. The valpol was definatly dry. They both seemed to have a "thin" mouth feel for a lack of a better word. I really didnt know what to expect and I am not an expert by any means.
Is this what you would expect from these kits? They were RJS VdV Valpoicella & RJS VdV Chilean Cab/Merlot
If we want to drink this in July should we wait a week or so then bottle or ???? I know I just asked about bottle shock in another post but is it different for reds as opposed to whites?

Personally, if I wanted to drink this in July (which I think is way too soon), I would give it at least another month before I would bottle it. IMO

For these very small kits IMO thats a yes, I highly recommend stepping up quite a bit especially for what is needed for a big red wine.

Hey Guys,
Wade, I don't really know what you mean by these "very small kits". Both these are 6 gallon kits which I thought most were
smiley5.gif
By stepping up do you mean in the cost of the kit? I think I am going to try a "big red kit" for my next one.
Hey Flem,
What do you think about bottling 1/2 and bulk storing 1/2? I do have 1- 3 gal. carboy that I could bulk store one of them for a while.