WineXpert Island Mist Sweetness

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

First250

Reaction score
(I'm not sure if this post belongs in this particular forum, but as I am still a Newbie and this forum is for us....)

hanks ,Wade for your kind offer concerning the Island Mist kits. I would indeed like to try making one of the kits, if I could be reasonably sure that it would not be too sweet (6 gallons of wine I wouldn't knowfor surewhat to dowith).
My wife has had peach chardonnay that she absolutely loved
smiley5.gif
(it should be for what it cost), and another that was fartoo sweet.
smiley11.gif
. The data sheets for the IM kits here show them asa sweetness of '10' .

Any advice thatyou or others may offer on this subjectwould beappreciated.

Thanks!

That list is kind of off on some. There are some very sweet Island mist kits out there but the Peach Chardonnay and the Green Apple Riesling are 2 of the 1's that are perfect and not to sweet.

You can adjust the sweetness on those kits by adjusting the amount of the F-Pack that is added. If you add it all, it is a pretty sweet wine. You add the F-Pack after fermentation so you can add, taste, adjust as needed!
smiley2.gif

The Mango Citrus Symphony is one that's not too sweet. Very refreshing on a hot summer day. I prefer dry wines and so far this is the only mist kit that I've liked (haven't tried the Green Apple Riesling though). I normally make those for friends who like sweet wine.

Hi