I'm sure I'll get the hang of it but...

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

keahunter

Reaction score
this is my first attempt at making wine. I seemed to do ok getting the primary fermentation going despite being obsessed about cleanliness and sanitization. Then came time for the first racking into the carboy. At first, things seemed to go ok although I couldn't get the bung to stay in the carboy. It kept wanting to pop out. After calling someone for a hint on how to get it to stay still (drying it off with a paper towel), I put the bung and airlock in and I went upstairs. Returned about 30 minutes later to look at it and there was must everywhere. It filled up the airlock and was all over the table. After calling for help AGAIN, I siphoned off a bottle of must (sanitized the bottle first) and replaced the lock. Seems to be ok now...when the fermentation settles down a bit I'll add the must that I siphoned out back. This is fun, right? :)

Do you have a hydrometer? You need to use it. Your must is too active to be in a carboy, you need to rack it back to a primary.

i agree with julie...if you have a bucket, move it to a bucket, cover with a cloth and secure it.
when it gets to 1.000 on your hydrometer move it to the carboy.

The primary fermentation is probably better off happening in a bucket, unless you're really wanting to find a ladder and clean the ceiling :)

People will rack to a carboy anywhere from 1.020 to entirely dry (below 1.000 & unchanged for 3+ days)... The earlier (higher SG) you rack to a carboy, the more of the sediment at the bottom you'll want to rack with it.

A note about the airlock, for future reference : drying it off works, as you found - but if thats not enough.. When you push it in, give it a slight twist, not far but just a little; 1/8th of a turn maybe.

What kind of wine is it anyway?