I’m new to winemaking.

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Blues&2s

Junior
Reaction score
Hi my name is John and I’m from the UK. I have done a little wine making with kits in the past, but have tried making my own blackcurrant wine this year. I carried out initial fermentation with the berries, yeast and sugar and then moved into demijohns for the secondary fermentation. These have been fermenting away quite happily for the last 2 1/2 months, but are now showing signs of stopping as not much activity in the air locks. Can anyone please advise if this is the time to add the finnings, or shouldn’t be doing something else? Any help would be much appreciated. I hope posted this in the right location? John

Welcome to WMT, John!

I am fairly confident that the fermentation was completed months ago. The activity in the airlocks was likely just offgassing of CO2. However, the best way to know for sure is to use a hydrometer. These measure the density (specific gravity, or SG) of the wine, and are not very expensive. As the yeast eat the sugar, the SG of the wine goes down. When the SG is less than about 0.998 or so, and is constant, your fermentation is finished. Do yourself a favor and buy a hydrometer.

Now would be a good time to add your sulphites if you haven't done so yet to help protect this wine. Other than that it will clear on it's own over the next few months, you will also want to do a racking to remove the gross Lee's at the bottom and keep your carboy filled up to the neck if you plan on aging. But like stated before pick up a hydrometer it's one of the most important tools in wine making.