how to use a hydrometer for newbies

Wine Making Talk

Help Support Wine Making Talk:

jdrum

Reaction score
ok i want to start a thread on how to use and under stand a hydrometer.
as a relitive newbie, i look at the problem with a different perspective than the more experienced, when i got my first hydrometer, i didn't know crap about it
so i read the directions, and tutoriels, some were good and some were confusing

so this will be a work in process, and i welcome ANY constructive critisim to improve the topic.
DSC04767.1 [DVD (PAL)].jpg
this is a start, looking at the sg scale. i plan to do another pic relating the other scales as i have time
hyd6.jpg
update

jim

Last edited:

Runningwolf

Super Moderator
WMT Lifetime Supporter
Reaction score
Jim, that was an awesome pictorial. Thank you for the information.

Angelina

Reaction score
Thanks Jim, for confirming that I was doing it right, sometimes I wondered since I am really a hands on kind of gal. A picture is worth a 1000 words to me.

cpfan

Reaction score
Great picture and labels Jim. Don't know why this hasn't been done before. I'm pleased to see the spec gravities quoted as 3 decimals even though they end in a zero. Maybe next you can do a picture showing a reading that doesn't end in zero, eg 0.992.

My only comment is that some kits may finish about 1.000 (Cellar Craft Winery Series did this when first introduced), and others about .995 (many RJ Spagnols kits).

Steve

jdrum

Reaction score
thanks for the thums up everyone. like isaid this is a work in progress so i will take your coments and add to what i build in the future if you don't mind. as i add material i plan to edit and add it to the original post.
i am not happy with the pic and plan to do a better one.

jim

Last edited:

Sammyk

Reaction score
Actually, the photo is good. I wished something like this was available when I first started. I have since figured out how they work. I am sure it will help many though.

jdrum

Reaction score