How much water do you add?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mike1

Junior
Reaction score
For a fruit wine, the recipies tell you to add the frut, nutrients, enzymes, etc. and then add water up to a certain level, in my case 3 gallons. When you do this, do you add the water with the fruit in the primary? The volume of my fruit is displacing over a half gallon of the must. So, if I fill up to the 3 gallon mark, when I transfer to the secondary and pull out my fruit, I'll be left with a lot of water to add. On the other hand, during primary fermentation, I'm guessing the fruit will break down as the pectic enzymes go to work and if I add water to the 3 gallon mark before adding the fruit, then I won't know how much water to add.

Any insight would be greatly appreciated.

Mike

hey Mike, I'm not too experienced, but this is what I've done with my 1-gallon fruit batches.

I typically try to have all the fruit in a nylon bag and leave it in the primary (this will prevent too much "gunk" going into your secondary). I then dissolve some of other ingredients in the balance of water remaining. In the primary fermenter, I add usually add a little bit more water than needed to end up with a bit more volume of fluid than the batch I'm making. For example, for my 1-gallon batches, I might have 1.2 gallons of fluid (including fruit) in the primary and when racking I'll have enough to fill my 1-gallon carboy plus some extra. The key though is to watch your specific gravity, you don't want to dilute the must too much, so make sure when added your volume of water you work toward your goal SG.

Hope this helps,
-Nico