WineXpert How long can kit wines age?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

globalnavigator

Reaction score
I'm a newbie, so assume I'm just following the instructions to a T. I greatly prefer red wines, so let's focus on them.

It seems that I shouldn't expect to open my first bottle until 3 months minimum after bottling. After that, it seems as though it depends on many factors how long I CAN age the wine before they go downhill. Assuming I keep the wines in a closet at say 65-70 degrees, and I use Nomacorcs, how long should I expect them to be good for? For example, up to a year for Chilean wine kits, 3 years for any Eclipse big red varietals?

I would actually love to slap a little sticker on each bottle that says "Best between 9/2016 - 9/2018" for my reference and for others that I give bottles to.

I wish there was some kind of reference chart! Does anyone have some useful ranges and/or guidelines?

I have made a number of limited edition reds that have lasted 6 years and are still good.

We don't have anything much older than three years. All of our big reds are still improving at this point.
Only one wine we've made, which was a cheaper white, started to drop off significantly as it approached and passed the 2 year mark.

It seems that I shouldn't expect to open my first bottle until 3 months minimum after bottling. After that, it seems as though it depends on many factors how long I CAN age the wine before they go downhill. Assuming I keep the wines in a closet at say 65-70 degrees, and I use Nomacorcs, how long should I expect them to be good for? For example, up to a year for Chilean wine kits, 3 years for any Eclipse big red varietals?

I would actually love to slap a little sticker on each bottle that says "Best between 9/2016 - 9/2018" for my reference and for others that I give bottles to.