Homemade Sausage

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

joea132

Reaction score
My wine partner and I are looking to start making cured sausage. We need to start from scratch. Anybody do it here? We want to get a meat grinder but we weren't sure if we should buy the one with the sausage stuffer attachment or a seperate machine. Also we don't know what "number" grinder we should get for doing a moderate load of sausage. Any recipes or insight would be appreciated!

Merry Christmas

As a chef I would not suggest a separate machine, just get a stuffing horn attachment for your grinder and use natural casings and grind your meat twice. Also, what do you consider " a moderate load" ?

Neighbor and I made hot sausage a few months ago. Used pork butt, fennel seed, garlic, kosher salt, bk. pepper and hot pepper. It was awesome and no fat.

We ground pork twice, added spices and blended. Cooked a sample then made into patties and vac. sealed.

A grinder. Another item on my list.

As a chef I would not suggest a separate machine, just get a stuffing horn attachment for your grinder and use natural casings and grind your meat twice. Also, what do you consider " a moderate load" ?

Good advice thank you. Do you use the coarse grind plate then the fine grind plate? Me and my friend are both a little crazy and tend to overdo everything. I don't know how much we would do but I am a hunter and can end up having a huge amount of meat in a day... Plus we tend to overdo everything and go way overboard. We would probably do around 50-75 lbs of meat in a sitting.

I plan on using my smoker for a bit of it too. I'm not beyond building a smokehouse either! My buddy wants to hang it in his basement. I think he just enjoys the sausage hitting him in the face while he tends to his wine...