Has anyone ever made their own concentrate?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Chateau Joe

Snowbelt Fermenter
Reaction score
I like making a blueberry wine from a particular brand of blueberry juice. Now what I want to try is making a blueberry port with the same brand of juice. I want to intensify the flavors a bit by concentrating some of the juice. Has anyone ever tried making their own concentrate from juice? I'm worried if I heat it up it will change the flavor but then I have never tried anything like this before. What have some of you tried? Btw, this company does not sell frozen concentrates.

I have made my own concetrate before via heating. It works just fine, but you need to realize that It will change the flavour profile..Perhaps a better method would be to freeze the juice and then let it unthaw into a container of your choice extracting the sweeter drippings and leaving behind the less sweet left overs. ( kinda wastefull I think but I have heard of people having good results.)

Chateau Joe said:
Hi Seth,

Thanks for the concentrate help. I had a couple quick questions about your response. How hot did you allow it to get? Did you bring it to a boil? After heating how much did it change the flavor?

Thanks & Cheers
Joe

I ended up concentrating my apple juice and muscadine via boiling. So, it got pretty hot. The flavour change was not unpleasant' however, you might get a fruitier tasting wine if you freeze concentrate it instead. So, it is all up to you. Perhaps you could do a bench trial with one jug boiled and the other freeze concentrated.

Ie you freeze concentrate down first.. Then for the second part of the experiment you boil untill you reach the SG of the freeze concentrated one. That way you could compare them against each other on traits other than sweetness.