Decision on Fresh Italian Juice

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DavesWine

Reaction score
I'm moving up to fresh juice from kits as I want to give that a try. Orders at a local supply has opened for the Mosto Bello Italian juices. I have a couple questions if some people with experience with this could chime in.

How did the wine turn out? Is it the next best thing to crushing your own grapes?

And finally, I'm trying to decide on the variety. Thinking about Barbera, Brunello or with a Cabernet Sauvignon.

While I have no experience with that particular juice, red juice is not going to give you the same result as grapes. Fermentation on the skins makes a tremendous difference. This juice is probably better than a no-skin-pack kit, but that's not guaranteed.

This is not to dissuade you from trying it, just setting expectations. I suggest you buy commercial skin packs, or use raisins or Zante currants to give the juice a boost. You'll probably like this wine better than a kit. IMO it's a good progression for you.

Regarding varietal choice, buy one of each and bench test to make blends. ;)

I just did three buckets in July. Not from Italy though. I did 2 on the skins and one without. The one without is 'thin', ligher red, less body. I don't regret it, but I am going to have to see what I get in the end. I also wanted to use my own yeast so I dosed them with K-meta which in high enough doses will foil your efforts if you want to do MLF in secondary. K'meta didn't stop the inoculated yeast so I wouldn't bother. I went into this with the expectation that I would be aging longer to get the results I wanted. They tasted more jagged and unbalanced going into secondary than a kit. I can give you an update to say whre they are now, shortly, I need to taste them, anyway.