A new (ad)venture

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AaronSC

Reaction score
Hi all,
My spouse and I have been making wine from grapes since 1995 and have (naturally) always wanted to go commercial. We finally achieved that goal a few weeks ago and got our license to make wine and have a winery. Last year was the first year we made wine in California and got to know our neighborhood vineyards in Amador County and some from farther away in El Dorado. We had made wine in the Finger Lakes before that (definitely different challenges...) and wanted to see how much of our experience would transfer. Happily, after getting used to having to add tartaric (a pretty rare event where we had lived), we realized it was very much the same type of experience. Last year we got a smattering of varietals (barbera, zinfandel, Malbec, Mourvèdre, cabernet franc, Roussanne, Muscat and Viognier) and learned how each of these tastes from the vineyards they were harvest from. That's when we decided to take the next step and get a license.

Our goal is to stay small and treat this as a hobby for now that may develop into something bigger. Less than 500 cases. We also don't want to be like everyone else so we are planning to really experiment -especially interested in uncommon grapes, interesting blends, non-mainstream techniques (co-fermentation, no-malo reds). We're also going to try a different business model too -where we try to get highly motivated wine drinkers involved in the process of making the wine -choosing the grapes, techniques, blends, etc. Each year we'd like to have a "focus" or two, decided on my the club members -things like Rhone varietals, heritage vineyards, southern Italy, high elevation vineyards, etc.