Greeting from MI

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mikefrommichigan

Reaction score
Hello everyone, I am new to wine making and I hope this forum can help me along my journey to making great wine.

I just bottled my first wine, the Cellar Craft Showcase Red Mountain Cabernet. I chose this wine because it had great reviews on the Northernbrewer web site. Not the best way to choose a kit but I had to start somewhere. It wasn’t until I started reading the posts on here that I realized that I should be aging this wine for at least a year or more to get the best out of it. This was a kit with I believe 20L of grape juice + skins + oak chips.

For my next wine I want to make a wine that I can drink sooner, so I would like some suggestions for wines or wine kits, that can be consumed after about 5 – 6 months and that do not need aging too long.

Am I better off going with a 7.5 or 10L wine concentrate kit for this?

Happy new Year to all,

Mike

Hi mike and welcome. I work in MI (new buffalo) but live in IN. You started out with a great kit! Mine is bulk aging but I won't bottle until next October. I haven't really done a red that I would recommend as a quick drinker but I'm sure someone will chime in.

A lot of us make dragons blood for a quickee. It's not what a lot of people would refer to as a typical wine but it is quick and most importantly tastee.