D80 Taking Very Long To Ferment...

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Donz

Supporting Members
Supporting Member
Reaction score
It's my first time using D80 yeast and it has been going almost 7 days and still not complete. I gave it some additional FermK this morning as we are hoping to press this weekend. Here are some details:

PH yesterday 3.75
Room temperature 72F
Must temp 81F
Co-inoculation with VP41

Should I warm up the room temperature to help speed things up?

Must.jpg

Interesting my D80 was slower on the Sangiovese/Cab grapes than on the Zin grapes it lagged by a day compared to the D254. My Sangiovese and cab grapes were better quality than the Zins for some reason the fermentation was slower and the temps stayed lower. My room temp for most of the fermentation was 73-74 at night it cooled down to 70. I don't think you need to raise the temp, just let it do its thing slowly as long as you got all you nutrients in these you should be good. personally longer on the skins is just better as long as you got the cap still forming.

That is pretty much what I was thinking... The ferment isn't stuck and still going nicely with a good cap, not lacking any nutrients.
My D254 on the same grapes (Cab/Sangiovese) is complete and moved faster than the D80.

My Zin with Avante was incredibly fast, only took 4 days!

Donz, Same experience for me D80 was slower and few degrees cooler, I think its all good, more contact time with skins more color, more flavor, for me it was 8 days to reach .99 on the san/cab D80 7 days for D254. Personally I don't like fast fermentation. Slow & steady makes me happy.

I have used D80 a couple times and found it was a slow but sure yeast. I think it took ~10 days to press from pitching the yeast.