Cutting corners - can i save a few days in the process

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JeffZ

Junior
Reaction score
I'm a newbie on my first Winexpert kit. Everything going well so far, except I didn't check my calendar.

I have to leave for London 2 days before I'm supposed to bottle. Can I bottle 12 days after Step 3 begins (stabilzing and clearing), instead of waiting 14 days. Or should I cut a day from the 10 days between Step 2-3 (Secondary fermentation to stabilizing) if the SG is o.k. Or can I leave it in the carboy past the 14 days and bottle after 19 days.

Or am I doomed and should check the calendar next time! Much thanks.

I agree with roger80465, leave it until you come back to bottle

To be more direct, most here would have you leave it in the carboy for 6 months to a year. (I tend to bottle after 3 months, however, to free up the carboy for another kit.) Go, enjoy London, and bottle after you get back.

I'm a newbie on my first Winexpert kit. Everything going well so far, except I didn't check my calendar.

I have to leave for London 2 days before I'm supposed to bottle. Can I bottle 12 days after Step 3 begins (stabilzing and clearing), instead of waiting 14 days. Or should I cut a day from the 10 days between Step 2-3 (Secondary fermentation to stabilizing) if the SG is o.k. Or can I leave it in the carboy past the 14 days and bottle after 19 days.

Or am I doomed and should check the calendar next time! Much thanks.

With a few of my Wineexpert kits I have elongated step 3, well past the recommended 14 days.
I have allowed a kit to sit during the clearing phase (step 3) for atleast a month before moving on.

Just top up with some kind of wine and leave it before you jump the pond!

JeffZ,

Just one last point...