Crane Operators

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AAASTINKIE

Reaction score
This is where I can tell ramrod about my dreams to make it to the north slope some day.

I am listening.
smiley36.gif

Well, in two years I can retire from the papermill I "work" at and keep my health benefits, at 55. I am a boiler operator here, 1st class stationary engineers license, and was on the water job for 12 years holding the highest drinking water license there is. I work 3-12 hour days, 3 off, 3 nights, been going to Boston my days off for 3 years now to gain road time on my Class A CDL, and run the equiptment there, excavator with magnet and loader. Always wanted to go to Alaska, I think I am qualified for something, I watch job listings at VECO, and other sites in the oil fields, I'm thinking Anwar will open up with oil where it is or maybe the gas pipeline to Chicago right at the right time for me in a few years. But I am also happy right here in Maine so if I never leave that's OK too..I can dream (the dream is mostly about catching SALMON)

My high school buddy went to Alaska after school to work on the crab boats. Left at 250 came home almost dead. Would like to go hunting there though.

I watched those guys on T.V. crabing aboard out there. Scarry and dangerous...never enough money to die for a small mistake. I would give up eating crab altogether to let those guys have safer jobs. Chasing the rainbow....oh well

Meat is good for us. We must have protein. Beans and peanut butter is not the same thang.

I hope you don't end up diabetic in the future. There are substances in meat that help us produce insulin.

I work on a M.O.D.U. mobile offshore drilling unit we just call it a drilling rig.