Coffe Balloon Wine

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Johntodd

Maker of Fine Messes.
Reaction score
Coffee Balloon Wine

So I used Jack Keller's recipe:

½ lb freshly ground coffee
2½ lbs dark brown sugar
1½ tsp citric acid
¼ tsp tannin
7½ pts water
1 tsp yeast nutrient
Sauterne wine yeast

I only had Montrachet yeast. I pitched this morning and it is furious in there! I have it under a balloon because I couldn't find the other airlock.

Only making a 1/2 gallon in an old vodak bottle. Modified the recipe accordingly.

So it says to fit an airlock right away. I've always open-topped with a towel for the first week on my wines. Why the difference?

One thing I do know: people complain about coffee wine being very bitter. As an amateur chef, I think I know why. Most of the recipes over-extract the coffee grounds. You must boil the sugar water, toss in the grounds, and remove from heat. Only let it steep about 4 minutes max. Any more than that and much more bitter compounds are extracted.

I look forward to the "wakeful buzz" this will provide in about 3 months.

Last edited:
I made a similar batch of coffee wine to which I added chocolate and some coconut water and then pitched the yeast. I fermented it dry and have not back sweetened it. The cocomocha wine has been bulk aging for some months but I was not pleased with the result. The coffee flavor is too bold but I am hoping that the chocolate and coconut will come more to the front over the next few months.

Interesting idea about not soaking the coffee beans for too long!

Coffee can be counter intuitive, sometimes.

Some people say they don't like strong coffee. What they usually mean is they don't like bitter coffee. So, naturally, they use less coffee grounds. That makes logical sense, but doesn't actually work.