Clearing

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ernest T Bass

Reaction score
If I have added Bentonite to a carboy of wine and it didn't clear like I wanted it to, can I add Super-Kleer on top of it?

Thanks

Semper Fi

I like to use Bentonite in the primary. SuperKleer to clear after wine is dry.

Tom, I'm new to this wine making and I don't understand, why would I want to add a clearing agent to the primary. Isn't that where you start your fermentation and it's full of pulp and stuff?

Thanks

Semper Fi

Tom, I'm new to this wine making and I don't understand, why would I want to add a clearing agent to the primary. Isn't that where you start your fermentation and it's full of pulp and stuff?

Thanks

Semper Fi

The bentonite will bind to some of the protiens that would later cause haze. The theory is that while the ferment is going one, the "roiling" must carries the bentonite through the solution many times giving it more opportunities to capture the unwanted elements.

Thanks

Semper Fi

Yes and no. Like above bentonite can do a few things other than clear in the secondary. I have found using bentonite in the primary and superkleer once wine is racked and dry works best.
I find using just bentonite to clear is not as effictive as adding superkleer

Bud:

Bentonite is not what I consider a "Standard clearing agent". It helps to remove protein haze, and can perform that function in the primary or secondary vessel. Bentonite also aids in fermentation by providing nucleation sites for the yeast, and aiding in the yeast's circulation around the must/wine. This second benefit is not available if the bentonite is added once the primary fermentation is complete.