Other California Conn Cabernet

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SRLFD448

Reaction score
Hello All! I am new to winemaking and have been reading this for quite some time before I felt good enough to give it a try.

I purchased the California Conn Cabernet Kit and the necessary supplies with a better bottle (instead of the glass). From what I have read it seems like it is kind of the easiest way to go.

Unfortunately, the hydrometer in the kit I purchased smashed during shipping, so I did not get to take the initial SG reading. Is that a bad thing? My understanding is kits are fairly hard to mess up, but I am still concerned.

I sanitized and sanitized some more as that seems to be the most important part. Then I mixed my kit and it is currently fermenting (day 3).

Should I be nervous about messing this up? From what I have seen even the smallest mix-up in sanitation can lead to a bad batch. I have turned OCD on the cleaning supplies and would like it to come out great! Any suggestions along the way? Any help would be appreciated!!!

Hello and welcome to the forum. As of today you are ok with everything you have done. You do need to run out and get a hydrometer for your next steps though. I would do that as soon as possible so you'll know when to rack to the secondary which is only a few days away.

Hello and welcome to the forum. As of today you are ok with everything you have done. You do need to run out and get a hydrometer for your next steps though. I would do that as soon as possible so you'll know when to rack to the secondary which is only a few days away.

I called the company and they are sending one out pronto for the broken one. The directions call for a rack on day 8. I will unfortunately be out of town on business until day 8 so I am hoping it will still be day 8 this needs to happen!