Ballin Saccharometer

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bevie55

Junior
Reaction score
Hi,

I am getting back into the hobby of winemaking after two decades. I found my old balling saccharometers but have no clue how to read them. Is there a guide somewhere. I have three of them. The one that has the graduations of 0 through 8 when it put in 60 degree farenheit water read zero. The next one starts at 8 and goes to 16. The third one goes from 16 to 24. I started some Dandelion must yesterday according to the recipe I found on your site and got a reading of 18 today. Do you have any wild guesses what this is telling me????

Please understand I am not ordinarily an idiot. I am a registered nurse and have been trained to read and interpret measurements precisesly because somebody's life may depend on it.

I will be deeply in your debt if you can clear up my saccharometer confusion. Thanks, Bev

Hello and welcome. Your Saccrometer is a hydrometer. The values you post I am sure are Brix values. I believe Balling and Brix are the same thing.Most hydrometers today show the Specific Gravity (SG) values. I do have one that shows both. I am pretty sure the 18 reading is 18 Brix which equates to an SG around 1.074 which equates to9.5% to10% alcohol levels in the finished wine if you ferment to dry depending on which chart you use. You can find numerous conversion charts out there. I believe there is one posted here as well.

http://www.finevinewines.com/brix_table.htm

You can also find a calculator/converter like this one and save the page.

http://fredx.org/brewing/convert.php