Aging wine in corny kegs?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

honkey

Reaction score
Hey all, my wife is interested in making wine together at home. I'm a professional brewer and I still have a lot of my old homebrewing equipment and I also do some yeast propagation for my brewery at home, so I have flasks, 6 and 5 gallon carboys, buckets for fermentation, etc. I've been looking at buying frozen grape must and thinking through some of the logistical challenges of aging wine when you are fermenting single buckets that yield an unknown quantity and wanting to minimize the potential to pick up oxygen and I started to wonder: why not just age in purged corny kegs? If a batch yields 2.8 gallons instead of 3 gallons for example, if you have a 3 gallon carboy you have the headspace issue and you have to top up right? So what would be wrong with just aging that in a properly purged 5 gallon keg instead? Then you'd also have the option to serve the wine on nitrogen rather than bottle if you wanted.

I was thinking that after pressing the wine, transfer to get it off the gross lees a couple days later and add malolactic bacteria and oak, then transfer again a few months later to another keg. What am I not realizing that would make this a bad idea?

I’ve got a bunch of corny kegs and thought I’d this too but you need to let the wine degass so you would have to mechanically degas first (e.g. whip) and I really don’t want to do that.