Advice for the Soon-To-Be Retired

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dangerdave

Chief Bottlewasher
Reaction score
I am a career firefighter. I've been doing this for the past 27 years. I spent the first 16 years as a firefighter/paramedic, doing everything from catching new born babies to picking up body parts. The past eleven years, I've been an engine driver, rolling around in the biggest truck in town. It has not always been easy, but has always been rewarding.

I became eligible for retirement two years ago at the age of 48. My plan had been to stay another five years or so---until I had to leave---socking away some extra money for later years. But...

Johnna and I stayed up last night drinking wine and talking. I have enough money to retire now, so anything else I save is just gravey. Our plan is to do some round the world and cross country traveling post-retirement. While Johnna has been doing very well lately, she is concerned that she may become unable to travel before I retire. Being disabled, the furture of her condition is obviously unpredictable.

She is a smart woman, and makes a very good case, so...I am changing my plan for her sake, and retire this coming January, 2015, thus giving us the oportunity to do the things we want while we are still young enough and able enough.

I'm looking for advice from the retired members as to how to keep busy that does not include drinking wine 24/7 :dg...

...or washing my car every day...:cw
GO! :fsh

Dave, gardening is a very peaceful hobby that should fit in well with winemaking. Not only try grapes, but gooseberries, tart cherries etc. Lots of cool stuff out there.