WineXpert additives

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Motomike

Reaction score
I am a total newbie to all of this but a long time wine drinker and lover. Will be planting wine grapes in the spring (marquette) but am making kit wines for now to gain experience. I am bulk aging my first batch of WE pinot noir and have followed the directions exactly and so far first tastings are pretty good. I am getting ready to make the WE Lodi Cab and would like to get a bit more "complexity" if that is possible. What about adding more sugar during primary fermentation? Or other fruits (raisins?) peppercorns, additional oak. Any recommendation would be appreciated.

I wouldn't recommend straying to far from the included ingredients at this point. Get the basics down first by following the directions. That way you will have good sucess with the first couple kits to get a feel for what to expect. Later as you get more experience you can try a thing or two new to a batch and have something to compare it to. I haven't made the Lodi Cab, but would expect that kit to include some oak.

I agree with Appleman that you should get a few kits under your belt before trying anything too ambitious outside the original instructions. With the exception of a higher quality oak, such as Stavin oakor genuine oak barrels, I'd make it like the instructions recommend, at least until you can see how kits are supposed to taste when made according to instructions.

Are you talking about the Woodbridge Ranch 11 Cab? If so, that's a premium kit that would likely suffer from any tweaks. The additions you're asking about lend themselves better to lower priced kits.I can testify that the Woodbridge Ranch 11 Cab is very, verygood when made according to instructions and allowed to age 1-2 years.