a funny tast and odor to wine kits

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sandman375

Junior
Reaction score
<DIV style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt" ="Msonormal">
<DIV style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt" ="Msonormal">I am hoping I can get some in-site from you regarding the wine making kits I have made to date.
<DIV style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt" ="Msonormal">I am new to home wine making 2-3 months. I started with a 4 week kit then I did a second 4 week kit. Last night I bottled a 6 week kit and I have one more 6 week kit warming up to be bottled.
<DIV style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt" ="Msonormal">The person I purchased the kits from gave me a lesson on his method for making wine. With only a couple of deviations from the instruction included with the kit. Related to the primary fermentation process. His advice was to clean and sanitize the hydrometer and add it to the primary fermentation pail after the yeast foaming subsides cover with saran rape and seal with rubber bands. This way your are not loosing part of the batch every time you want to check SG.
<DIV style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt" ="Msonormal">I take great efforts to clean/sanitize containers/bottles before and after usage.
<DIV style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt" ="Msonormal">O.K. now for my question.
<DIV style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt" ="Msonormal">I have tasted all of the batches after bottling (what is leftover)in all cases there seems to be an odd taste/odor to the wine. When I questioned this to the store owner his response was wine needs to age in the bottle. Well I also thought it might be related to the less expensive kits (more water). But bottling last night and Amarone at twice the price for the kit I again had a simular experience. The closest I can describe the taste is slightly metallic or like the sanitizer odor to the smell.