what is the point of of "bottom wire" on a TWC?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TimTheWiner

Begintner
Reaction score
I have all the hardware I stalked on 6 of my 10 rows (the VSP rows) but planning on doing the 4 top wire cordon rows tomorrow. I was going by the picture below as a guideline and will probably set the top wire at 72" (same height as top pair on VSP rows) but what is the ideal height for the lower wire and what is the point of it? Won't they just grow every which way and then how do the shoots attach to the bottom wire or are they not suppose to? Just don't get the purpose of a lower wire on TWC I guess. The varietals are Marquette, Noiret, La Crescent and Cayuga.

image-4141457305.jpg

I'm not a trellis expert but I would say this is a poor example of VSP. The bottom wire in this case would be for your cordons in VSP, thus allowing the top wires to allow your shoots to grow vertical. I would say the drawing you are using is a modified kniffen trellis not VSP.

The pic above is TWC. I already have my VSP done. I am just trying to figure out what a bottom wires purpose serves on a TWC training system.

No, the shoots are not attached to the bottom wire. That wire is used as a support to train your trunks up straight. If you are using bamboo stakes in the beginning attach them to the bottom wire to keep the vine upright and stop them from being blown around in the wind.

Ok, that makes sense and I am using bamboo that is approx 32" high (even though the bottom bottom on my VSP is 36", so I'm a few inches short if the wire. So what is keeping the vine upright to get to the top wire then after it reaches the bottom wire. Seems like if I used just a single 6'-8' piece if bamboo it would just climb to the top wire and eliminate the need for a bottom wire righty?