What is it and how do you know?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jose' Miller

Reaction score
As all if you know I am new to this wine making thing. I can tell you that I love dry red wine. Merlot and Pinot Noir are my favorite so far. When tasting the oaked Merlot I can taste the oak and grape. I can taste the slight bitterness tart sensation. Is that tanin? If so, how can I make my wines have that taste/sensation? How do you know how much tanin to add if that is what it is?

Last edited:
The tannin taste is like you take a sip of strong pekoe tea and it has that dry slightly bitter taste.
The directions on the bottle tell me, "Add as needed to increase astringency( pucker to your lips like persimmons) or zest and aid in clearing." You can order it on line at any winemaking store. It is a brown powder derived from grape skins and adds longevity to the wine
I have forgotten how much to add offhand and I hesitate to tell you something wrong.
I did a qick search and came up with this. "Balances low tannin wines and aids clarification. Use 1/4 teaspoon per gallon for white/rose wine must. 1/3 teaspoon per gallon red wine must. 1/2 teaspoon per gallon for fruit wine must."

Last edited:
I am making some Aronia berry wine and would like that cotton or dry mouth feeling at the end of a sip. 5 gallon batch whats your Estimate on how much grape or wine tannin to add to achieve this?

Trying to find a guide I read once. It takes you through steps to learn the characteristics of wine in terms of things you are familar with simple comparisons. BUT for now here is a pretty good description of Tannins:
How Does a High Tannin Wine Taste?

• Tastes bitter on the front inside of your mouth and along the side of your tongue.
  • Tannin makes your tongue dry out.