Welch's Request

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mcamnl

Reaction score
I have seen many different recipes for using Welch's juice to make a nice wine. I want to start with a 1 gallon batch and using three cans of concentrate has been mentioned more than a few times. When the recommendation to add another can is mentioned, it is always followed with "just adjust the rest of the ingredients accordingly."
I understand how to adjust the sugar and check that with the hydrometer, but how do you adjust everything else?
Sorry for the questions. I am just starting out and want to do things right.
Here is the recipe I am going to try.
I would like to use 3 cans of concentrate.

2 cans (11.5 oz) Welch's 100% frozen grape concentrate

1-1/4 lbs granulated sugar

2 tsp acid blend

1 tsp pectic enzyme

1 tsp yeast nutrient

water to make 1 gallon

wine yeast

Bring 1 quart water to boil and dissolve the sugar in the water. Remove
from heat and add frozen concentrate. Add additional water to make one
gallon and pour into secondary. Add remaining ingredients except yeast.
Cover with napkin fastened with rubber band and set aside 12 hours. Add
activated wine yeast and recover with napkin. When active fermentation
slows down (about 5 days), fit airlock. When clear, rack, top up and
refit airlock. After additional 30 days, stabilize, sweeten if desired
and rack into bottles.