Other Urgent Help Required!

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

caper_26

Reaction score
Guys ! I have been making wine for over 10 years. I was doing a couple of wine kits the other night, and I just found a package of Chitosan.

The Grand Cru kit had the Chitosan labeled "D2" (which I found in the garbage), so I am pretty sure that this other one belongs to the Niagara Mist (Strawberry flavor).

Can I still add this package to the wine in the carboy even though it has been 5 days since I added the remaining chemicals? Usually, the Kieselsol goes in first anyway, so I am hoping I didn't mess this up as much as I could have.

Please help!

PS: Is there a way to check the code on the Chitosan to know for certain which kit it belongs to??

Can you purchase a new package within the next couple of days ?
The time line is not that critical - when you add the clarifier

I have the package ! Maybe I wasn't clear. Sorry.

I was doing the same stage to 2 different wine batches at the same time. This was 5 days ago. I thought I was finished everything for both batches (just had to wait until clear)... EXCEPT....Tonight I found a FULL package of Chitosan which was camouflaged by wrappers. But which kit did I forget to put it in? Putting on my Sherlock shoes, I went through the garbage and looked at what was in there, and compared it to the instructions of each kit.

The Grand Cru had instructions: Kieselsol (D1) and Chitosan (D2). These empty packages were both in the trash
The Niagara instructions just had Kieselsol and Chitosan and no other numbering for these packages.
There was a Kieselsol (no numbering) in the trash, but no other Chitosan empty package in the trash.

So it is probably safe to say it belongs to the Niagara batch.