Uh Oh i need help

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

patc

Reaction score
O.K. I bulk aged an all juice barolo for three months added the clarifier and this thing will not clear it has been sitting there for 25 days and will not clear, i racked it off of a lot of lees and it still will not clear just looks like sediment is held in suspension? i degassed it after fermentation but being that i am new to this maybe i did not degas well enough? in addition i have a ner d avola that i bulk aged for 6 weeks and just put the claafier in and again it's been ten days and is starting to look like the barolo but not quite as bad. BTW i have two 1/2 gallon jugs of each that cleared absolutely fine????? soooo maybe i did not degas well enough but if that's the case what do i do now????? can i re-degass even tho the carifier has been used? then try super kleer?it's too bad to filter that's for sure. or do i try to cold stabalize?i also have a carboy of sangiovese and montepulciano all juice that is bulk aging right now and do not want ot have the same experience with them so if it's a poor degassing job can i then bring the temp up to around 75 degreeson those with a brew belt and degass again to be really sure before i add the clarafier? I currently bulk age at a temp of about 65 degrees. Please shelp me with a game plan.

It is possible that the cooler temps are making degassing much harder. I would degass again, after bringing the temps up to 75 and see if things start to clear, if they don't clear use super kleer. Looks like you have a nice bunch of wines going.
VC