Too much yeast Too little headspace

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

scurry64

Temperance League President Emeritus
Reaction score
I know that I pitched too much yeast. I need to know how to fix this potential problem.

This is a 6 gallon pail of Chilean Carmenere. I made a starter using 10 grams of BRL97 yeast and 10 grams of Goferm. There was probably less than 2 inches of headspace before pitching the yeast. Now after about 20 hours, it looks like this. I'm afraid of what it will look like in another 24-48 hours.

Do you think I can siphon off a gallon or more of the Carmenere into a 2 gallon bucket until fermentation is complete and then recombine the 2 batches before adding malolactic culture?

I've never used this yeast strain before. I've never attempted primary fermentation with so little headspace before. I hope someone has overcome this problem before. Any suggestions?

20160404_063814.jpg

20160404_063836.jpg

First of all I'd think about a catch/drip pan under those buckets. Like JohnT said,,,, split it into 2 equals then recombine in secondary after fermentation has subsided..

Move about 1.25 gallons to the 2 gallon bucket. You can use soup or other large pots to remove another gallon.

I split the batch. They're both still extremely active.

Or run buy a couple of brute trash cans. At this stage, you could just pour all of the contents in without an oxidation problem.

Or run buy a couple of brute trash cans. At this stage, you could just pour all of the contents in without an oxidation problem.

Whoops, I see now where you split the batch. Carry on and good luck.

I've noticed that quite a few people ferment in these "brute trash cans." I know that there are food-grade brutes for restaurant use, but I doubt the that the trash cans are food grade. Does that concern anyone else?