Temp Control - My Latest Build

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RegionRat

Reaction score
I live just outside of Chicago. Winter is here and the area I have been doing fermenting has been in the lower to mid 60's.

I have been reading the pros and cons of the methods you all use to control carboy temps. I will not get in to the merits of any of those methods. There is plenty of discussion here already. I am going to explain what I did and why.

First off, I am a professional Firefighter with over 23 years service so the risk of fire is of the up most importance to me. I also wanted to keep it as pocket friendly as possible, and something anyone can do. Here is what I did.

I went to Tractor Supply and picked up a 40 gallon livestock watering tub (under $40 out the door)

tube.jpg

I then read up on tropical fish and temp management.

Amazon supplied me with; AquaTop Aquarium Heater - 300W ($16.99 delivered), and Aquatop Aquarium 80GPH Submersible Pump ($8.50 delivered).

The suction cups on both would not stick to the textured surface of the tub. I found a piece of old composite counter top and used a few stainless steel screws, nuts, and washers to attach it to the inside of the tube.

anchore.jpg

I then stuck the heater and pump to the smooth surface. The pump is there to circulate the water so there are no cool spots.

mounted.jpg

I filled it to the min water level on the heated and let it go a few days. No leaks and Temp stayed at the setting on the heater.

I then put in 6 gal kit Merlot that is clearing, a 5 gal carboy of Cranberry still fermenting (SG 1.020), and my first batch of Dragon Blood. They have been in the water bath for 2 days and are holding nicely between 78 and 80deg.

gun1.jpg
gun.jpg
doing well.jpg