RJ Spagnols Super Tuscan

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Paulc

Reaction score
I purchased adn started an supertuscan from RJ Spagnols. It has gotten off to a great start and I should be able to do the second racking shortly after Christmas and bottle some time in mid-January according to the instructions. I have not made wine since grad school 10+ yrs ago and was never very successful then but I am excited and hopeful for this current batch. But in reading the instructions it says the wine should be stored after bottling under 65 degrees. Of course I have no way of storing 2 1/2 cases of wine at that temp. Any suggestions?

If I store it at room temp in a closet, probably low 70's how will that effect the wine. Will simply mature faster or will it not develop correctly and so not taste right?

TIA, Paulc

I am brand new to this forum and I really like it so far. Yet one more way to lose track of time in the evenings!

Is this the Winery series with the grape pack? If so you are in for a treat! Storing at room temp is ok and will age your wine a little faster but it will still store for a few years no problem especially if you use good quality #9 x 1.75 corks. Remember that stable temps are much more important then cooler temps. Temp changes will make the wine breathe out their S02 and breathe in 02 oxidizing your wine during this contraction and expansion. Welcome to this forum!

consistency of temp is the most important thing. Even if it is kept at 70*, if it does not fluctuate more than 2* a day, 10* a week, you will be ok. Also, make sure it is out of the light during storage. Many of the rules are for long term storage, if you plan on drinking this after one year, you will be fine.