RJ Spagnols Suggestions for my Valpolicella Ripassa

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tonyt

Reaction score
I just received a Cru Select Valpolicella Ripassa and want y"alls suggestions on how to tweek it. I usually use Tim V's 5-20-40-90 schedule of 5 days of primary, finish fermenting in carboy till day 20, fining and clearing till day 40 and age till day 90. This kit however, skips fermenting in carboy by fermenting to dry in primary then goes directly to degassing and clearing in carboy.

The kit has two oak "tea bags" I have never used these before, seems to be toasted chips, don't know why the tea bag and not just dump in. Use tea bags? Open tea bags and dump in? Lose tea bag oak in lieu of below?

We like the Oak Monster so I may add American or french spirals or Hungarian cubes. Yea / Nea? Country of origin?

Also has a large plastic bag of oak shavings and dust, does not seem to be toasted at all. I think I swept better than this up off the floor of my grandpa's woodworking shop years ago. Anyone like this stuff?

It also has a sock to put the GenuWine skins in. I have never had a sock to use for skins. The EP kit just dumped the skins in primary, don't mind the mess that much. Use the sock or lose it?

Extra 3 or 6 months in carboy prior to bottling?

George says to make it exactly like the instructions with provided ingredients maybe add glycerin at the end and it will be delicious. But then can I really call it mine? Plus what would we all sit up late at night and talk about?

I kind of like the idea of making it pretty much as directed the first time around. The next time you can tweak it. That way you know how the manufacturer thought it should taste. They usually know their product pretty well somehow.

Beware the oak monster as he seems to grows larger as he grows older and ages.