Stubborn White Film Mold

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bsc_so_cal

Junior
Reaction score
I've been making wine for about 4-5 years both in carboys and quarter barrels. I've had issues with white film mold at the top of my carboys in the past - but have been successful in handling it with careful removal (float it out) and a good clean of the carboy neck area (inside and out) and sanitization of the carboy stopper and air gap. I've also tested the free SO2 and I'm in the 30-40 ppm range. However - this year I'm struggling with this issue and can't seem to get it resolved on one or two of my 8 wines. Thought I would throw it out there and see if anyone has any other remedies that I could try? Nothing unique with either of these wines - a couple of red wines (from grapes) - a nice Barbera and a red blend with Zin and Petite Syrah. Appreciate any suggestions.

It sounds like you're keeping things clean. I presume your transfer hoses are being sanitized too. I think your SO2 levels might be too low to prevent the mold. I understand wanting to minimize SO2, but you need to have enough to protect the wine against this very thing. If it was me, I'd add a larger dose of SO2 to get to about 80ppm. (However, This dosage will probably stop MLF). I've heard from experts that with SO2 one larger dose is more effective than several smaller doses. Also, as the wine ages and particles fall to the bottom, the SO2 levels will decrease. Sterile filtration might work, but for home winemakers that's pretty hard (and expensive) to accomplish.