Smells funny

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

aylamarie

Reaction score
Ok I'm kinda new at this iv only made a little bit but never tasted it but I was making the Jack Keller recipe for apple juice wine I did boil my juice until my sugar was dissolved even though the recipe did not but i did add 1/4 tsp tannin added 1 tsp of acid blend added my nutrient and a crushed camden tablet stirred well waited a little over 12 hours and added pectic enzyme and waited another 12 hours and now I'm on day three of stirring and it has a funky smell like funky smellin apples please help me I would appreciate it thanks

Ok I'm kinda new at this iv only made a little bit but never tasted it but I was making the Jack Keller recipe for apple juice wine I did boil my juice until my sugar was dissolved even though the recipe did not but i did add 1/4 tsp tannin added 1 tsp of acid blend added my nutrient and a crushed camden tablet stirred well waited a little over 12 hours and added pectic enzyme and waited another 12 hours and now I'm on day three of stirring and it has a funky smell like funky smellin apples please help me I would appreciate it thanks

well, unfortunately nowhere in your post do you mention pitching your yeast....if you didn't add yeast, and your "must" has been sitting now for 3 days, without actually fermenting, then it could actually be spoiling, hence the smell....if you did add yeast, a few more details are needed, such as your starting gravity and type of yeast used....

g8keeper said: