Racking question

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tdidona

Learning the art
Reaction score
Hello all, I'm a novice winemaker (3 kits so far and a my first Skeeter Pee almost done) and have a question regarding racking. I recently purchased the All in One wine pump, which has been the best investment I have made to date (thank you Steve), but feel like I'm trying to grab too much of the must each time I rack. For example, my Skeeter Pee was crystal clear after adding Sparkolloid 2 weeks ago, and I racked it to a new carboy on Saturday. I didn't want to leave any wine behind, and in doing so sucked up some of the lees on the bottom, therefore re-clouding my Pee, which I'm very disappointed about. So my question is how much wine do you leave behind each time, I feel like you have to leave progressively more each time to avoid this issue. And if my Pee was already cleared, do you think it will clear again on it's own, or will I need to add more Sparkolloid to accomplish this? Thank you for your help.

Whatever fits through the racking cane on the first racking. After that, there should only be a tiny bit of lees left (if there isn't, you aren't letting it sit long enough).

Less than a cup, normally.

Just making sure that you are using a sediment tip on the racking cane ?

make sure that you tip the carboy a bit with a 2x4 or such and then with a flashlight behind the carboy slowly let the cane down ward - I suggest hitting the vacuum release a couple of times to keep the vacuum lower while you are at this stage.

Once you see any sediment being sucked in the racking cane - you should hit the vacuum release or pull up on the racking cane.

You can always take the rest that is in the carboy to a smaller container to settle out even more if needed.