Quick fermentation-is this ok?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Pauly2275

Junior
Reaction score
Hi everyone :)

I'm fairly new to winemaking and just wanted to get some opinions on fermentation rate.

I bought three pails of organic Syrah only two weeks ago and the primary fermentaion was very strong. It reached the desired 1.000 range after about 7 days and I then racked it into it's secondary fermentaion demijohns. This morning after only 11 days of fermentation the specific gravity is around .993 and tastes like it has a good amount of alcohol in it :) the body seems to be good as well, when I circle it in my wine glass it leaves some pretty impressive legs and is begining to show signs that it is well on it's way to clearing.

The directions that came with the wine suggest that primary fermentation should take between 10-30 days and secondary fermentation should have taken between 30-60 days.

Two questions

Is it normal for wine to reach it's specific gravity so soon?

Now that I've reached the proper alcohol content can I add the sorbate and sulphites to sterilize and stabilize it?

Thanks

Paul

I bet they gave you Ec-1118. That stuff works hard and fast. I am sure you are fine if you are getting the same reading for three days in a row. Afterwards, feel free to stabilize and let it relax in the demi.
I did an experiment with different yeast, some do take weeks to get the wine dry. EC-1118 never takes more than a few days.

Hi everyone :)

I'm fairly new to winemaking and just wanted to get some opinions on fermentation rate.