Question for all the experts

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sampvt

Senior member from Leeds UK.
Reaction score
''Hypothetically speaking''........What would happen if a Wine Kit brew, when mixed, measured light on the Opening gravity and sugar was added to bring the sg within a reasonable range. Would that brew need a little more yeast and indeed time to ferment out, or is there anything else that could be done to rescue the Kit.

It is a hypothetical question, so please don't perceive it to be a mistake in a disguised cloak.

I am No expert. But it would not need more yeast, it would run the ferment in it's own time' there are many variables in a ferment SG, temperature, type of yeast. So nothing is on a precise time table. So nothing would have been done wrong. hope this helps

What is the original sg and what do you mean by reasonable? Is this a mist kit? You should be fine but it would depend on what sg you are trying to start out at.

''Hypothetically speaking''........What would happen if a Wine Kit brew, when mixed, measured light on the Opening gravity and sugar was added to bring the sg within a reasonable range. Would that brew need a little more yeast and indeed time to ferment out, or is there anything else that could be done to rescue the Kit.

It is a hypothetical question, so please don't perceive it to be a mistake in a disguised cloak.

Extra yeast is not required IF it is still 23 litre (5 Imperial gallon, 6 US gallon) or less. ANd you are probably fine even if it's a litre or two more, although I've never tried this.

Time? IMO, time is not the factor. Oh yeah, I don't check the sg in the primary until 5-7 days have passed, but the prime necessity (IMO) is that the sg has dropped to 1.005 or below.