Did I turn my wine into Vinegar?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Shuler7

Junior
Reaction score
Hello all!

This is my first post on this site, so please let me know if I am doing anything wrong!

I have been making beer for a few years now, and a friend had a newly bought wine making kit that they had no intention of using, so it was graciously donated to me! I figured I might as well start making wine then. For my first wine I bought 6 gallons of grape juice (no preservatives!) from Aldi and found some recipe online to turn it into wine. I figured I would start with a small investment to to get an idea of how the process differs from beer making. The result... It turned out ok! I bottled this wine yesterday (and started drinking this wine yesterday....) and while the taste is a little harsh it is drinkable. About halfway through the fermentation of my first wine I saw a special seasonal offer from my local brew supply store: Fresh California grape juice available only once a year! I thought I have to try that, so I went all in. I invested in as good of a juice as I thought possible to obtain where I currently live, and read as much as I could to make sure everything went alright. Tragedy struck this evening though; I was siphoning the nice wine into a new carboy so I of course took a sample for myself, and it smells of vinegar. This was the enemy I had read so much about but I was naïve enough to think that it couldn't happen to me. So this brings me to my question which has two parts: First, is this the truly the end of this batch of wine, or am I being overly dramatic? Second, if it has truly turned vinegary, what are some tips for making the most out of this wine/vinegar?

Any advice or insight is greatly appreciated! Thank you all for your time!

My vote: You are being overly dramatic!