Probably killed the yeast

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gdfernan

Junior
Reaction score
Completely newbie here.

Was making a wine starter to restart stuck fermentation. The starter was bubbling nicely, when i thought i should make it even more active. since bread rises nicely at 110F, I heated the wine starter to the same temp. Now it looks like I have killed the yeast. Is there anything I can do to resurrect the starter?

Thank you for any advice.

Welcome to WMT.

If this is your biggest screw-up you’re doing better to than me! Give it a
Little sugar, a pinch of yeast nutrient, and wait a few hours. With luck Maybe a few of them survived. Otherwise it’s a new starter.

Welcome to WMT!

When I make a starter, I use water heated to ~95 F, add sugar, nutrient, and yeast, and let it set on the kitchen counter for at least 4 hours. It will cool down to room temperature, but if the yeast is viable it's reproducing like crazy. Then I put the starter next to the fermenter (in my case, in the cellar) overnight, where it will cool down to the temperature of the must. In the morning swirl to mix, then pour carefully down the inside of the fermenter so it doesn't spread into the wine. Do not stir for 24 hours.

I've had 100% success with this method over the last 1.5 years, and typically can smell fermentation within 6 hours, and have visible activity by the following morning.

Welcome to WMT
An option if you don’t have more yeast is to try making a starter from the lees in an old ferment (this one). Reproducing yeast need sugar, oxygen and a mix of nutrient/ vitamins. Simply mixing spent yeast into sugar water won’t work well.