persimmon wine

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gnug

Junior
Reaction score
copypasta from homedistiller.org:

i started a batch of persimmon wine and it's my first try at making wine. HELP! well, no major problems yet except that no one told me this stuff expaaaands. it blew off the lid and spilled out over night and made a huge mess!

i don't know how many lbs of persimmons (hachiya) but it was enough to fill a 5 gallon bucket
i used 5 tsp of pectic enzyme let it rest for 12 hours then pitched the yeast, lalvin EC 1118
i added half a stick of cinnamon and 1 tsp of nutmeg
i only added 1 cup of maple syrup for now because i couldn't get a hydrometer measure yet since it's a thick soupy goo. i'll get a reading asap when it separates a little and probably add a lot more syrup

UPDATE: i just measured a sample and got a reading of S.G. = 1.075
i started the ferment about 24 hours ago, how much do you think the specific gravity would have changed since yesterday? i'll add a little more syrup when i strain the pulp in about a week. how much should i raise s.g. then? what's a good target alcohol content for persimmon wine?

let me know what you all think so far. tips tricks and general advice is welcomed and very appreciated

It' hard to tell - there is not set calculation to determine how much the yeast metabolizes sugar.

But with that said - within the 1st 24 hours - i usually see mine drop about .0022 @ 74* - .0039 @ 78*.

And that is just an avg for me - like i said before - these values vary a lot on temp, yeast used, etc.

i still can't get an accurate reading with the hydrometer but this stuff smells reeeaally alcoholic. super dry. is that normal? will it mellow out?

Why can't you get an accurate measurement? Do you have a Cylinder to put your hydrometer in with the wine to take a reading or is it another issue?