Cellar Craft Okay, on my knees

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sudz

Sudz
Reaction score
Here's the deal. I've been making wine for about five years now. And beer for about six. Great beers, even awards. Very good white wines... every one. Can't make a red to save my arse. Seriously. The only exception was a Zinfandel I made from hand picked grapes one time at the beginning. Did everything wrong I think but the wine was great.

I went to kits simply because grapes are hard to come by around here.

As I said, the whites have been good and some very good. No issues at all. Never a bad batch.

All the reds have a common off taste. Kind of a pruny, astringent, rusty taste. It varies between wines and styles but it's always there. it keeps anything from being enjoyable. It's the same taste in every red I make. Never present in any white wine. It actually makes all reds taste somewhat the same... not a good "same" I might add. Some have been so strong on this taste that I just pour them out after a year or so. This characteristic does seem to fade with time but it never goes away. I have some reds that are three years old, but it's still there. These wines are clear, vibrant, and spot on with color and clarity. They just don't taste very good which is highly disturbing.

I make mostly Cellar Craft kits but have tried several others. Kit mfg doesn't seem to make a difference.

I'm at a loss as to what this could be. I haven't any way of sampling others efforts so I don't know if this is just my skills or possibly I'm just sensitive to what some have said is a "kit" taste.

Any suggestions folks?

I'm on the verge of hanging it up since the effort involved simply isn't justified by the poor results.

Last edited: