ok..little help..

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kendo

Reaction score
I am new to the cultured yeast thing, i was a wild yeast natural wine man, im going with a cultured yeast, ive read 20 diff ways to rehydrate a yeast..so here's i go...im doing 4 lugs of grapes >1 cup of 104 degree water , put in 12 1/2 grams of go ferm protect, 10 grams of yeast (d254) wait 15-20 add a little juice from fermenter, wait 15 more minutes, add the culture to the fermenter..:a1

Last edited:
Make sure the yeast solution is within a few degrees temperature-wise as the must before adding it to the must.

Also make sure the solution is foaming and bubbling, indicating the yeast are viable.

I am new to the cultured yeast thing, i was a wild yeast natural wine man, im going with a cultured yeast, ive read 20 diff ways to rehydrate a yeast..so here's i go...im doing 4 lugs of grapes >1 cup of 104 degree water , put in 12 1/2 grams of go ferm protect, 10 grams of yeast (d254) wait 15-20 add a little juice from fermenter, wait 15 more minutes, add the culture to the fermenter..:a1
To use GO Ferm correctly you hydrate it at 110 degrees and wait for the solution to drop to 104 degrees then you add the yeast. Then you make additions to the culture with some sugar and juice but do not let the culture drop more than 10 degrees doing so in stages of at least one hour each. After you have dropped the Culture temperature to within 10 degrees of your Fermenter Temperature you can pitch the culture in the Fermentor. Keeping the temperature changes within the 10 degree range is called tempering. I assume as a Natural Yeast Guy now that you have decided to use cultured yeasts you now have your nutrient program ready as well.
Malvina