Next Step: Blueberry Wine

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MSIMSON

Junior
Reaction score
Background:

I'm a very novice wine maker - this is my first attempt!
Started around the end of July, primary and secondary fermentation lasted for all of July and most of August.
About 100 days ago (August 20th), I added K-Meta (to ward off bacteria) and Potassium Sorbate (so stabilize) to my wine. It has been sealed with a 1 way air lock for the past ~100 days to allow it to to bulk degas.

I'd like to bottle it now and possibly sweeten it, if it needs it. (Want to bring a bottle to thanksgiving dinner!) :D

Here are my questions: (Any help is appreciated, please let me know if you need more information.)

Is 100 days enough time for it to degas? - Before I sealed it for bulk aging, I used a vacuum bottle sealer to try to manually degas it, and it drew bubbles out, it wasn't able to produce enough suction to fully degas it so I decided to let it degas over time.

Should I add more potassium sorbate before I bottle if I decide to sweeten it?

Should I add more K-Meta to keep bacteria out?

When I do bottle, I'm supposed to store the bottles on their sides for a certain amount of time, correct? then turn them right side up?

Thanks in advance for your help, you guys are so great!
I haven't opened the wine in 100 days and I'm really hoping it hasn't gone bad in that time! Haha, I'm very nervous...

Others will chime in I'm sure; but depending on the wine, it may or may not be degassed. Some are quick, some take a year (in my experience). Good that you used the vacuum already.

Is the wine completely clear?????
No, you don't need to add more sorbate as long as you added the correct amount.
Yes, I would add k-meta at bottling. 1/8th tsp per 23 litres or 6 gals.