Newbie Peach Wine Question

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lisade

Junior
Reaction score
Hello all from South Georgia,

I am new to wine making, but already think I am addicted as I have 4 different brews going on.
I have a 2 gallon batch of peach wine placed in primary fermentation on Sunday. Today I stirred the must and tasted it, it was not sweet enough and basically tasted like crap. Question is do I need to just let it finish and back sweeten later when I do second ferment, rack or do I need to try to add a little more sugar while in primary fermentation?

Recipe:
6lbs peaches
2 gal water
4 1/2 lbs. sugar
3 tsp acid blend
1/2 tsp. tannin
2 tsp. yeast nutrient
2 campden tabs
1 tsp. peptic enzyme added 12 hours later
1 pack champagne yeast (red star) added 12 hours later.
crushed peaches are in bag in the primarty ferment with airlock.
Initial sp 1.082.

Thank you for your advice.

Hello all from South Georgia,

I am new to wine making, but already think I am addicted as I have 4 different brews going on.
I have a 2 gallon batch of peach wine placed in primary fermentation on Sunday. Today I stirred the must and tasted it, it was not sweet enough and basically tasted like crap. Question is do I need to just let it finish and back sweeten later when I do second ferment, rack or do I need to try to add a little more sugar while in primary fermentation?

Recipe:
6lbs peaches
2 gal water
4 1/2 lbs. sugar
3 tsp acid blend
1/2 tsp. tannin
2 tsp. yeast nutrient
2 campden tabs
1 tsp. peptic enzyme added 12 hours later
1 pack champagne yeast (red star) added 12 hours later.
crushed peaches are in bag in the primarty ferment with airlock.
Initial sp 1.082.

Thank you for your advice.

i think u will need to do a flavor pack. 6lb. for 2 gallon is lite for peach.
what is current s.g.?

Sp