Newbie needs help

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Peterock

Reaction score
Hi All, Newbie here in need of some advice. To give you all a little back ground, I made wine (from juice)last year at my friends house with his guidance with Great outcome. This year we went our separate ways and I don't want to screw it up. I've read many posts here already that have added to my confusion. I'll start from the beginning.

I bought

6 gal of Mosto Imperatore Lambrusco

6 Gal of Mosto Imperatore Barolo

5 gal of Regina Nebbiolo

I purchased them on Nov 13 and transferred them to carboys and air locked them and left them in my basement @ 50-60ish degrees

On Nov 24 I bought 6 gal of Lodi Gold Malbec (unpitched) and slightly frozen (slushy). I left this one up stairs at room temp 60-65ish degrees for a day and them sprinkled one packet of red star yeast on top along with 1/4 teaspoon of pectic enzyme and placed buckets top loosely back on top. At this time I brought my other wine carboys upstairs in thought that it was too cold in basement.

So I'm now on day 12 of the Malbec in which I should rack from bucket to carboy??? Right

The other wines are bubbling thru the air locks (which is normal) except the Nebbiolo.

I'm figuring you guys are going to ask me the S.G. Answer is I don't know. I just bought a hydrometer but still don't know what it was when I first got it. I read in forums about boiling and adding distilled water to get original SG problem being I'm not sure I can pull 250ml then boil down to 150 with any kind of accuracy.